Frequent question: How many counties are there in Ethiopia?

Regions and chartered cities of Ethiopia
Created 1992
Number 10 regions, 2 chartered cities (as of 2020)
Government Region government
Subdivisions District (woreda)

How is Ethiopia divided?

Ethiopia is administratively divided into regional states and chartered cities, zones, woreda (districts) and kebele (wards).

How many districts are in Ethiopia?

There are about 670 rural districts and about 100 urban districts. Terminology varies, with some people considering the urban units to be woreda, while others consider only the rural units to be woreda, referring to the others as urban or city administrations.

Who named Ethiopia?

In the 15th-century Ge’ez Book of Axum, the name is ascribed to a legendary individual called Ityopp’is. He was an extra-Biblical son of Cush, son of Ham, said to have founded the city of Axum.

What nationality is Ethiopian?

Ethiopians are the native inhabitants of Ethiopia, as well as the global diaspora of Ethiopia. Ethiopians constitute several component ethnic groups, many of which are closely related to ethnic groups in neighboring Eritrea and other parts of the Horn of Africa.

Where is Ethiopia located?

What is the biggest state in Ethiopia?

Regional States and Chartered Cities of Ethiopia

No. Region Area (Sq. Kilometers)
1 Addis Ababa 527
2 Afar 72,053
3 Amhara 154,709
4 Benishangul-Gumuz 50,699

What is Ethiopia known for?

Ethiopia is famous for being the place where the coffee bean originated. It is also known for its gold medalists and its rock-hewn churches. Ethiopia is the top honey and coffee producer in Africa and has the largest livestock population in Africa. … The Rastafarian religion claims Ethiopia as its spiritual homeland.

IT IS INTERESTING:  How much is pop3 plus in Uganda?
Hot cold Africa